Hot water extraction: the “steam cleaning” with no steam
Shaw, the carpet maker, describes the process plainly: a cleaning agent goes into the pile, and the extractor uses water to recover the used solution along with the soil. People commonly call it steam cleaning, Shaw adds, although no steam is generated. The Carpet and Rug Institute’s residential standard calls hot water extraction the most common professional system for homes and names three main kinds of equipment: truck-mounted units, professional portables with a hose and wand, and self-contained walk-behind machines.
Shaw says research indicates hot water extraction has the greatest cleaning capability. What can go wrong is water: Shaw warns that carpet left over-wet, with the water not extracted, can wrinkle and in extreme cases delaminate, and that units without the CRI’s Seal of Approval may not pull out enough water for proper drying. Residue is the other risk. The CRI’s commercial standard notes that detergent residue keeps attracting and holding soil after it dries, and Shaw that some systems may leave residues that speed re-soiling, so ask how the solution is rinsed and extracted.
Angi’s national figure for steam cleaning is $40–$90 per room, the most popular option for deep cleaning by its account. HomeAdvisor, which treats steam cleaning and hot water extraction as one method, gives $100–$400, depending on how dirty the carpet is and its fiber. Maid VIP, our affiliated partner, describes its carpet cleaning as hot water extraction, priced per room; the carpet cleaning page has its estimate beside the national figures.
Encapsulation, dry compound and the other low-moisture methods
The CRI describes interim maintenance as low-moisture cleaning aimed at keeping a carpet’s appearance uniform, which can postpone or limit the need for deep cleaning, and it tells owners to check the carpet maker’s recommendations. Its residential standard defines the interim system as an encapsulating solution, a counter-rotating brush machine, whose cylindrical brushes spin vertically to lift and agitate the pile, and a vacuum. Angi prices dry cleaning at $60–$130 per room and says it works well for delicate carpets or where fast drying is a priority.
Encapsulation
The WoolSafe Organisation, which approves cleaning products for wool, describes the steps: the product is misted onto the carpet, gently agitated, left to dry and then vacuumed away. Angi lists encapsulation at $80–$200 per room and files it under commercial and routine maintenance. For commercial printed carpet, Shaw’s hospitality checklist pairs it with a hot water extraction after every third or fourth encapsulation.
Dry compound
The CRI defines dry compound as a spot-cleaning method: an absorbent compound used with dry-cleaning fluids, detergents or other cleaning solutions. WoolSafe calls it very low risk, with no danger of over-wetting, shrinkage or long drying, and says the floor can be walked on almost immediately.
Bonnet
Angi lists bonnet cleaning at $30–$90 per room, for commercial use and surface cleaning. Both of the CRI’s standards list rotary equipment, a head that spins, orbits or oscillates on the carpet surface with or without a brush, pad or bonnet, as not recommended for carpet cleaning, without giving a reason, and Shaw’s hospitality checklist says bonnet cleaning isn’t recommended for its printed carpet.
Shampooing and carbonated cleaning
Angi prices shampooing at $80–$150 per room, and HomeAdvisor prices carbonated cleaning at $120–$420, $280 on average. Neither process is described by the carpet makers or standards quoted in this guide, so ask a company that offers one how the solution comes back out. That question matters for any method that leaves detergent behind, given the CRI’s warning that the residue keeps attracting soil after it dries. The CRI’s dust-mite bulletin, an industry document, does suggest shampooing or steam cleaning carpet and washable rugs at least once a year.
The methods side by side
| Method | How it works | National price | Drying | Suited to |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hot water extraction (“steam cleaning”) | Solution into the pile, then extracted with the soil | $40–$90 per room (Angi) | Should be dry within 12 hours (CRI) | Periodic deep cleaning; the method the carpet warranties checked here name |
| Encapsulation | Solution misted on and agitated, left to dry, then vacuumed away | $80–$200 per room (Angi) | Low-moisture; WoolSafe says interim cleaning can leave wool dry within an hour | Interim cleaning between deep cleanings; water-sensitive fibers |
| Dry compound | Absorbent compound with cleaning fluids | Not priced separately; Angi’s dry cleaning runs $60–$130 per room | Walk on almost immediately (WoolSafe) | Spot cleaning; water-sensitive fibers |
| Bonnet | A spinning pad on a rotary machine, worked over the surface | $30–$90 per room (Angi) | Not stated in these sources | Commercial use and surface cleaning (Angi); the CRI doesn’t recommend rotary machines |
| Shampoo | Not described in these sources | $80–$150 per room (Angi) | Not stated in these sources | Ask how the detergent is rinsed out |
| Carbonated | Not described in these sources | $120–$420, $280 on average (HomeAdvisor, no unit given) | Not stated in these sources | Ask how the solution is removed |
Angi’s figures are national, per room (updated September 21, 2026). Typical national cost range, not a quote.
What carpet makers and the standards say
The carpet makers lean one way. Shaw recommends only hot water extraction with Seal of Approval products and equipment; Mohawk’s 2019 brochure requires professional hot water extraction; Engineered Floors and STAINMASTER ask for professional hot water extraction every 12–18 months; Tarkett’s general terms ask for professional cleaning with Seal of Approval products without naming a method, but its stair warranty calls for professional hot water extraction every 12–18 months. What each warranty asks for has the details.
The standards are more neutral. The standard from the Institute of Inspection, Cleaning and Restoration Certification (IICRC), ANSI/IICRC S100, sets out procedures, methods and systems for professionally cleaning carpet and rugs; by the trade magazine Restoration & Remediation’s account of its 2021 edition, it makes no attempt to weigh one method against another. The CRI’s Seal of Approval tests extractors for soil removal, leftover moisture and appearance, and the CRI reports that, in general, certified water extraction systems earned the highest rankings in the program.
Which method suits which carpet fiber
The CRI names five primary pile fibers in carpet made in the United States: nylon, polyester, polypropylene (olefin), triexta and wool, and synthetics make up the vast majority. Under federal fiber-labeling rules, triexta is a kind of polyester. Shaw’s fiber chart rates its three main synthetics excellent for stain resistance but splits them on soil resistance: nylon excellent, polyester fair, polypropylene poor. Nylon isn’t inherently stain resistant, Shaw notes, so most of its nylon carpet carries a stain-resistant treatment.
Wool has chemistry rules of its own. WoolSafe asks for cleaning chemicals with low alkalinity and no added bleaches, because high alkalinity can make dyes bleed and, in extreme cases, yellow and weaken wool. It says only WoolSafe Approved chemicals should go on wool and wool-rich carpet, and that over-wetting greatly lengthens drying and may discolor the pile; low-moisture interim cleaning, it adds, can leave wool dry within an hour. HomeAdvisor prices dry cleaning wool carpet at $100–$400.
Plant fibers such as sisal, sea grass and coir, and regenerated fibers such as viscose, Tencel and bamboo, are sensitive to moisture, and WoolSafe’s first choice for them is a low-moisture method, dry compound or encapsulation. Rug fibers and how each is cleaned and area rug cleaning go further.
Drying times, and the one job for cool water
Wet-cleaned carpet should be dry within 12 hours, the CRI says, and carpet that is properly extraction-cleaned shouldn’t stay wet long enough to mold. Stanley Steemer’s own estimate after its hot water extraction is 8–24 hours, depending on humidity, temperature and airflow. How long carpet takes to dry covers what shortens it.
Pet urine reverses the usual logic. Heat is what sets a urine stain and its smell, the CRI says, so a steam cleaner is the wrong tool; it suggests a wet vacuum and a cool-water rinse, and Engineered Floors likewise warns against heat or hot water on urine. Pet stain and odor removal and why pet odor comes back explain the treatment.
Choosing a method in a Thousand Oaks home
Carpet bought in recent years, whether in a 1970s house or a newer one in Dos Vientos, built mostly after 1998, may still be under a warranty that names hot water extraction. A low-moisture interim cleaning won’t meet a requirement like the one in Mohawk’s 2019 brochure for professional hot water extraction, so time the deep cleanings to the warranty and use the lighter methods between them, as the CRI describes.
Upholstery follows its own rules. The November 2018 Woolsey Fire put all of Agoura Hills, Oak Park and Westlake Village, and a band of Thousand Oaks, under mandatory evacuation, and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s ash guidance says lightly soiled upholstered furniture may be cleanable. The method, though, is set by the fabric’s cleaning code: La-Z-Boy says hot water extraction or steam cleaning isn’t recommended for its code W fabrics, and Ashley’s code X allows only vacuuming or light brushing. Reading a cleaning code and ash and smoke indoors go further.
Sources
Each was opened and checked in October 2026. Prices are national figures or Maid VIP’s labeled estimates, not quotes.
- Shaw Floors, carpet cleaning and its warranty requirement (Shaw’s Costco site)
- The Carpet and Rug Institute, CRI 205 residential carpet standard for maintenance and cleaning
- The Carpet and Rug Institute, CRI 204 commercial carpet standard for maintenance and cleaning
- Angi, carpet cleaning cost (updated September 21, 2026)
- HomeAdvisor, carpet cleaning cost (updated June 17, 2026)
- Maid VIP, services and published prices (Maid VIP shares owners with this site)
- Maid VIP, carpet cleaning (Maid VIP shares owners with this site)
- The WoolSafe Organisation, the cleaning and maintenance of wool carpets (2020)
- The WoolSafe Organisation, cleaning and maintenance of fine fibres
- Shaw Hospitality Group, printed carpet maintenance checklist (commercial carpet)
- The Carpet and Rug Institute, technical bulletin: dust mites (2018), a carpet-industry source
- The Carpet and Rug Institute, frequently asked questions
- Mohawk, carpet warranty brochure (effective March 2019, a retailer’s copy)
- Engineered Floors, DreamWeaver warranty, care and maintenance
- STAINMASTER, carpet limited warranties guide (Lowe’s, for carpet bought from November 30, 2025)
- Tarkett Home, ICON limited warranties and care guide (Cloud 9 carpet, 2025)
- Shaw Floors, Carpet Care and Maintenance Guide (revision 02282024)
- IICRC, ANSI/IICRC S100 standard for professional cleaning of textile floor coverings
- Restoration & Remediation, newly revised ANSI/IICRC S100 standard published (July 26, 2021)
- The Carpet and Rug Institute, why Seal of Approval products matter
- The Carpet and Rug Institute, selecting the right carpet
- Federal Trade Commission textile rules, 16 CFR 303.7: generic names of manufactured fibers
- Shaw Floors, comparing carpet fibers
- Stanley Steemer, frequently asked questions (a cleaning company’s own estimates)
- The Carpet and Rug Institute, cleaning and maintenance for homes
- Wikipedia, Dos Vientos, Thousand Oaks, California
- Woolsey Fire unified command, incident update, November 11, 2018, 7 p.m.
- U.S. EPA, protect yourself from ash
- La-Z-Boy, fabric and leather care
- Ashley Furniture Industries, upholstery cleaning codes